GENUKI Home page
Banffshire Banffshire   Contents Contents   Neighbours Nearby places



The parish of Glass is nowadays reckoned as belonging to Aberdeenshire, and the main article about it will therefore be found among the GENUKI Aberdeenshire pages. However, before the major re-alignment of parish and county boundaries which came into effect on 1st May 1891, the parish belonged in part to Banffshire. The remaining articles on this page give details.

Historical Geography

Until 1st May 1891, the parish of Glass straddled the boundary between Banffshire and Aberdeenshire, but on that date, the county boundary was moved, leaving Glass exclusively in Aberdeenshire. The anomaly is not likely to have any great consequences for genealogy. OPRs, the civil Registers of Births, Deaths and Marriages, and the Census treat Glass as belonging exclusively to Aberdeenshire. It may be, however, that taxes on land and transfers of land are recorded under Banffshire.

Names, Geographical

Locations involved: Ardgally, Auchinhandoch, Backside, Beldorney, Mains of Beldorney, Blackbog, Butterward,Chapelhill, Craigdorney, Craigwatch, Drumdary,Dumeath, Glackshalloch, Little Gouls, Backhill of Gouls, Meikle Gouls, Greenhow, Howemill, Loanhead, Lynbain, Mill of Lynbain, Midthird, Nether Dumeath, Netherton, Parkhead, Playlands, Stoneyleys, Succoth, Succothbeg, Timberford, Townhead, Wallowkirk, Waterside, Wrightstone.

Return to top of page

If you have found any errors or omissions, or have any suggestions about this page, please use the feedback form

[Last updated: 8 Dec 2004, Gavin Bell]

Valid HTML 4.0!